(*homocinematically inclined)

Monday, March 8, 2010

Awards Watch: Yearly Round Up 2009

Once again, Movie Dearest has tallied up the total trophies handed out by the top 28 organizations, critics groups and industry guilds to get a clearer picture of what is indeed the Best Picture (et al) of the year; only categories with at least two wins are included.

Picture of the Year: The Hurt Locker, 10 wins
Actor of the Year: Jeff Bridges in Crazy Heart, 6 wins
Actress of the Year: Sandra Bullock in The Blind Side and Meryl Streep in Julie & Julia, 4 wins each
Supporting Actor of the Year: Christoph Waltz in Inglourious Basterds, 10 wins
Supporting Actress of the Year: Mo'Nique in Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire, 12 wins
Director of the Year: Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker, 9 wins
Adapted Screenplay of the Year: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner for Up in the Air, 7 wins
Original Screenplay of the Year: Mark Boal for The Hurt Locker, 3 wins
Cinematography of the Year: The White Ribbon, 4 wins
Art Direction of the Year: Avatar, 4 wins
Costume Design of the Year: The Young Victoria, 4 wins
Original Score of the Year: Up, 6 wins
Original Song of the Year: "The Weary Kind" from Crazy Heart, 4 wins
Film Editing of the Year: The Hurt Locker, 5 wins
Sound Mixing & Editing of the Year: The Hurt Locker, 4 wins
Visual Effects of the Year: Avatar, 9 wins
Animated Feature of the Year: Up, 7 wins
Foreign Film of the Year: Summer Hours, 3 wins
Documentary Feature of the Year: The Cove, 5 wins
Acting Ensemble of the Year: Inglourious Basterds, 2 wins
New Actor/Actress of the Year: Gabourey Sidibe in Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire, 3 wins
New Director of the Year: Duncan Jones for Moon

The top winner was The Hurt Locker, with wins in 5 categories, while Precious supporting actress Mo'Nique won the most awards in any category, with 12 total.

See the comments section below for the list of the 28 groups tracked.


  1. The 28 Awards Groups Tracked:

    The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences (the Oscars)

    The American Film Institute (AFI Awards)

    The International Animated Film Society (the Annie Awards)

    The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (the BAFTAs)

    The Broadcast Film Critics Association (Critics' Choice Awards)

    The Los Angeles Film Critics Association

    The National Society of Film Critics

    The New York Film Critics Circle

    The Hollywood Foreign Press Association (The Golden Globes)

    The Recording Academy (the Grammy Awards - film related categories only)

    The Producers Guild of America

    The Screen Actors Guild (The Actor Award)

    The Directors Guild of America

    The Writers Guild of America

    The American Society of Cinematographers

    American Cinema Editors (the Eddie Awards)

    The Art Directors Guild

    The Costume Designers Guild

    The Cinema Audio Society

    Motion Picture Sound Editors (the Golden Reel Awards)

    The Visual Effects Society

    Film Independent (the Independent Spirit Awards)

    The National Board of Review

    The Online Film Critics Society

    The International Press Academy (the Satelitte Awards)

    The USC Scripter Award

    The NAACP Image Awards

    The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association

  2. Great recaps! Another awards season comes to an end.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...