(*homocinematically inclined)

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Awards Watch: Yearly Round Up 2012

With the award season all said and done for the year 2012, Movie Dearest has tallied up the total trophies handed out by the top 27 organizations, critics groups and industry guilds to get a clearer picture of what is indeed the Best Picture (et al) of the year; only categories with at least two wins are included.

Picture of the Year: Argo, 8 wins.
Actor of the Year: Daniel Day-Lewis in Lincoln, 9 wins.
Actress of the Year: Jennifer Lawrence in Silver Linings Playbook, 6 wins.
Supporting Actor of the Year: Matthew McConaughey in Magic Mike and Christoph Waltz in Django Unchained, 3 wins each.
Supporting Actress of the Year: Anne Hathaway in Les Misérables, 8 wins.
Director of the Year: Ben Affleck for Argo, 4 wins.
Adapted Screenplay of the Year: Argo, 5 wins.
Original Screenplay of the Year: Django Unchained, 4 wins.
Cinematography of the Year: Life of Pi, 4 wins.
Production Design of the Year: Anna Karenina and Lincoln, 2 wins each.
Costume Design of the Year: Anna Karenina, 4 wins.
Original Song of the Year: "Skyfall" from Skyfall, 3 wins.
Film Editing of the Year: Argo, 3 wins.
Sound Mixing & Editing of the Year: Les Misérables, 5 wins.
Visual Effects of the Year: Life of Pi, 7 wins.
Makeup & Hairstyling of the Year: Les Misérables, 2 wins.
Animated Feature of the Year: Wreck-It Ralph, 4 wins.
Foreign Film of the Year: Amour, 7 wins.
Documentary Feature of the Year: Searching for Sugar Man, 5 wins.
New Actor/Actress of the Year: Quvenzhané Wallis in Beasts of the Southern Wild, 2 wins.
New Director of the Year: Benh Zeitlin for Beasts of the Southern Wild, 2 wins.

The top winner was Argo, with wins in 4 categories, while Daniel Day-Lewis won the most awards in any category, with 9 total.

See the comments section below for the list of the 27 groups tracked.

1 comment:

  1. The 27 Awards Groups Tracked:

    The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences (the Oscars)

    The American Film Institute (AFI Awards)

    The International Animated Film Society (the Annie Awards)

    The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (the BAFTAs)

    The Broadcast Film Critics Association (Critics' Choice Awards)

    The Los Angeles Film Critics Association

    The National Society of Film Critics

    The New York Film Critics Circle

    The Hollywood Foreign Press Association (The Golden Globes)

    The Recording Academy (the Grammy Awards - film related categories only)

    The Producers Guild of America

    The Screen Actors Guild (The Actor Award)

    The Directors Guild of America

    The Writers Guild of America

    The American Society of Cinematographers

    American Cinema Editors (the Eddie Awards)

    The Art Directors Guild

    The Costume Designers Guild

    The Cinema Audio Society

    Motion Picture Sound Editors (the Golden Reel Awards)

    The Visual Effects Society

    Film Independent (the Independent Spirit Awards)

    The National Board of Review

    The Online Film Critics Society

    The International Press Academy (the Satelitte Awards)

    The USC Scripter Award

    The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association