Friday, March 8, 2024

Reverend's Preview: March Brings Major Movie Awards


Illustration by Olly Gibbs,

Hollywood’s biggest night this year will be this Sunday, March 10th, when the 96th annual Academy Awards are scheduled to be bestowed upon the best films, actors, actresses, directors, etc. of 2023. Nominations were announced on January 23rd and include several LGBTQ+ contenders. Getting a head start on the celebration, however, are GALECA’s newly-announced Dorian Award winners for 2023.

GALECA: the Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics was founded in 2009 and currently consists of 500 members (including yours truly). Each year, the group honors the best mainstream and LGTBQ+ film, television and Broadway/Off Broadway productions via their Dorian Awards. A 501 c 6 nonprofit, GALECA also advocates for better pay, access and respect for its members, especially those in our most underrepresented and vulnerable segments. GALECA’s other efforts include the Crimson Honors, a college film/TV criticism contest for LGBTQ women or non-binary students of color.

Among the LGBTQ-interest film honorees recognized by both GALECA and the Academy among their initial nominations this year were out actor Colman Domingo for his performance as the title, trailblazing gay activist in Rustin; out actress Jodie Foster as the dedicated friend and coach to a record-breaking lesbian swimmer in Nyad; lead actress Sandra Huller, screenwriter Justine Triet, and their keep-‘em-guessing courtroom drama Anatomy of a Fall; and the touchingly queer, anime-inspired animated movie Nimona.

Somewhat surprisingly, GALECA completely snubbed actor-director Bradley Cooper’s biopic Maestro, about bisexual composer-conductor Leonard Bernstein. But then, GALECA nominated the popular, Oscars-neglected queer comedy Bottoms in multiple categories.

Also notably absent among this year’s Oscar nominees was out filmmaker Andrew Haigh’s pretty much universally-acclaimed All of Us Strangers. This metaphysical/supernatural tale of a gay man reuniting with his long-dead parents while embarking on a romance with a mysterious neighbor is beautifully made and truly haunting. Actors Andrew Scott and Paul Mescal were both nominated by GALECA for their deeply moving performances.

Similarly neglected by the Academy were the LGBTQ favorites Saltburn and Passages. All this being said, the single coolest Oscar citation this year in my opinion is composer John Williams’ 54th nomination at the age of 91! He was recognized yet again for his score of Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny. (Williams actually turned 92 since this year’s nominees were announced.)

GALECA’s 15th annual Dorian Award winners, including several new categories, were just announced. We are honored to include them here:

Film of the Year: All of Us Strangers (Searchlight Pictures)

LGBTQ Film of the Year: All of Us Strangers (Searchlight Pictures)

Director of the Year: Greta Gerwig, Barbie (Warner Bros.)

Screenplay of the Year- Original or adapted: Samy Burch, May December (Netflix)

LGBTQ Screenplay of the Year (new award category this year): Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers (Searchlight Pictures)

Non-English Language Film of the Year: Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)

LGBTQ Non-English Language Film of the Year (new award category this year): Anatomy of a Fall (NEON)

Unsung Film of the Year- To an exceptional movie worthy of greater attention: Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret. (Lionsgate)

Film Performance of the Year: Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple, Paramount)

Supporting Film Performance of the Year: Charles Melton, May December (Netflix)

Documentary of the Year: Kokomo City (Magnolia)

LGBTQ Documentary of the Year: Kokomo City (Magnolia)

Animated Film of the Year: The Boy and the Heron (GKIDS)

Genre Film of the Year - For excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror (new award category this year): Poor Things (Searchlight Pictures)

Film Music of the Year: Barbie — Mark Ronson, Andrew Wyatt, et al. (Warner Bros.)

Visually Striking Film of the Year: Poor Things (Searchlight Pictures)

Campiest Flick: M3GAN (Universal)

“We’re Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award: Ayo Edebiri

Wilde Artist Award - Recognizing a truly groundbreaking force in entertainment: Todd Haynes

GALECA LGBTQIA+ Film Trailblazer Award - For creating art that inspires empathy, truth and equity: Colman Domingo

Timeless Star (Career achievement award) Honoring an exemplary career marked by character, wisdom and wit: Jodie Foster

For the full list of nominations and more information about the Society of LGBTQ+ Entertainment Critics, please visit

No comments: