(*homocinematically inclined)

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

And the 2014 Dorian Awards Go To...

The members of the Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association, (GALECA), including myself and fellow Movie Dearest critic Chris Carpenter, have chosen their winners for the 6th Annual Dorian Awards, naming the best of the best in film and television for 2014. Richard Linklater's Boyhood, a frontrunner at the upcoming Academy Awards, was named Film of the Year, while Amazon's Transparent dominated the TV prizes with five awards.

Other winning movies include Pride (for both LGBTQ and Unsung Film of the Year), The Case Against 8 (Documentary), Xavier Dolan's Mommy (Foreign Language Film), The Grand Budapest Hotel (Visually Striking Film) and Into the Woods (Campy Film). Oscar favorites Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything) and Julianne Moore (Still Alice) took the Film Performance awards, while Selma's breakout director Ava DuVernay was honored with the first Director of the Year Dorian.

In addition to TV Comedy and LGBTQ TV Show of the Year, Transparent netted Jeffrey Tambor a Dorian to go along with his recently won Golden Globe. The Normal Heart was named TV Drama of the Year, with other prizes going to Lisa Kudrow (for the comeback of The Comeback), Neil Patrick Harris (for his Hedwig and the Angry Inch performance on last year's Tony Awards) and Sia (for her viral music video "Chandelier").

Congratulations to all the Dorian Awards! See the comments section below for a complete list.

1 comment:


    Film of the Year


    Film Performance of the Year - Actor

    Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

    Film Performance of the Year – Actress

    Julianne Moore, Still Alice

    Film Director of the Year

    Ava DuVernay, Selma

    LGBTQ Film of the Year


    Foreign Language Film of the Year


    Unsung Film of the Year

    Pride -

    Documentary of the Year

    (theatrical release, TV airing or DVD release)

    The Case Against 8

    Visually Striking Film of the Year

    (honoring a production of stunning beauty, from art direction to cinematography)

    The Grand Budapest Hotel

    Campy Flick of the Year

    Into the Woods

    TV Drama of the Year

    The Normal Heart - HBO

    TV Comedy of the Year


    TV Director of the Year

    Jill Soloway, Transparent

    TV Performance of the Year - Actor

    Jeffrey Tambor, Transparent

    TV Performance of the Year - Actress

    Lisa Kudrow, The Comeback

    TV Musical Performance of the Year

    Neil Patrick Harris, “Sugar Daddy,” The Tony Awards

    LGBTQ TV Show of the Year


    Unsung TV Show of the Year

    Getting On

    TV Current Affairs Show of the Year

    The Daily Show with Jon Stewart - Comedy Central

    Campy TV Show of the Year

    Jane the Virgin

    Music Video of the Year

    Sia, “Chandelier”

    The “We're Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award

    Gina Rodriguez

    Wilde Wit of the Year

    (honoring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse)

    John Oliver

    Wilde Artist of the Year

    (honoring a truly groundbreaking force in the fields of film, theater and/or television)

    Jill Soloway

    Timeless Award

    (to an actor or performer whose exemplary career is marked by character, wisdom and wit)

    George Takei