(*homocinematically inclined)

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

The 2014 Dorian Award Nominations

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association, of which I and Movie Dearest contributor Chris Carpenter are members, has announced the nominations for the 6th Annual Dorian Awards honoring the best in film and television for 2014.

Recent Golden Globe winners Birdman, Boyhood and The Grand Budapest Hotel are joined by the Alan Turing biopic The Imitation Game and gay indie fave Pride as the nominees for the Film of the Year award, with the latter two competing with Love is Strange, Stranger by the Lake and The Way He Looks for the LGBT Film of the Year prize. The nominations as a whole display a wide variety of 2014's cinematic best, with such award season favorites as Foxcatcher, Gone Girl and The Theory of Everything joining underdogs like The Babadook, Xavier Dolan's Mommy and The Skeleton Twins.

Ryan Murphy's acclaimed screen adaptation of Larry Kramer's The Normal Heart leads the nominations on the television side, while actor/activist/Star Trek legend George Takei was named this year's recipient of the Timeless Award, given to “an actor or performer whose exemplary career is marked by character, wisdom and wit.”

See the comments section below for the complete list of nominees. Winners will be announced January 20th.

1 comment:


    Film of the Year
    The Grand Budapest Hotel
    The Imitation Game

    Film Performance of the Year - Actor
    Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
    Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
    Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler
    Michael Keaton, Birdman
    Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

    Film Performance of the Year - Actress
    Essie Davis, The Babadook
    Anne Dorval, Mommy
    Julianne Moore, Still Alice
    Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
    Reese Witherspoon, Wild

    Film Director of the Year
    Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
    Ava DuVernay, Selma
    David Fincher, Gone Girl
    Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Birdman
    Richard Linklater, Boyhood

    LGBTQ Film of the Year
    The Imitation Game
    Love is Strange
    Stranger by the Lake
    The Way He Looks

    Foreign Language Film of the Year
    Force Majeure
    Stranger by the Lake
    Two Days, One Night

    Unsung Film of the Year
    Obvious Child
    Love is Strangs
    The Skeleton Twins

    Documentary of the Year
    (theatrical release, TV airing or DVD release)
    The Case Against 8
    Elaine Stritch: Shoot Me
    Life Itself
    Regarding Susan Sontag

    Visually Striking Film of the Year
    (honoring a production of stunning beauty, from art direction to cinematography)
    The Grand Budapest Hotel
    Under the Skin

    Campy Flick of the Year
    Gone Girl
    Into the Woods

    TV Drama of the Year
    The Good Wife
    How To Get Away with Murder
    Mad Men
    The Normal Heart

    TV Comedy of the Year
    The Comeback
    Modern Family
    Orange is the New Black

    TV Director of the Year
    Lisa Cholodenko, Olive Kitteridge
    Jodie Foster, Orange is the New Black
    Andrew Haigh, Looking
    Ryan Murphy, The Normal Heart
    Jill Soloway, Transparent

    TV Performance of the Year - Actor
    Matthew Bomer, The Normal Heart
    Matthew McConaughey, True Detective
    Mark Ruffalo, The Normal Heart
    Kevin Spacey, House of Cards
    Jeffrey Tambor, Transparent

    TV Performance of the Year - Actress
    Viola Davis, How to Get Away with Murder
    Lisa Kudrow, The Comeback
    Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
    Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black
    Frances McDormand, Olive Kitteridge

    TV Musical Performance of the Year
    Beyonce, MTV Video Music Awards
    Neil Patrick Harris, “Sugar Daddy,” The Tony Awards
    Jessica Lange, “Life on Mars,” American Horror Story: Freak Show
    Macklemore, Ryan Lewis, Madonna, et al., “Same Love,” The Grammys
    Prince, Saturday Night Live

    LGBTQ TV Show of the Year
    Modern Family
    Orange is the New Black
    Please Like Me

    Unsung TV Show of the Year
    Getting On
    Orphan Black
    Please Like Me

    TV Current Affairs Show of the Year
    Anderson Cooper 360
    The Colbert Report
    The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
    Last Week Tonight with John Oliver
    The Rachel Maddow Show

    Campy TV Show of the Year
    American Horror Story: Freak Show
    How to Get Away with Murder
    Jane the Virgin
    Peter Pan Live!
    Penny Dreadful

    Music Video of the Year
    Nicki Minaj, “Anaconda”
    Perfume Genius, “Queen”
    Sia, “Chandelier”
    Taylor Swift, “Blank Space”
    Meghan Trainor, “All About That Bass”

    The “We're Wilde About You!” Rising Star Award
    Ansel Elgort
    Jack Falahee
    Ellar Coltrane
    Jack O'Connell
    Gina Rodriguez
    Finn Wittrock

    Wilde Wit of the Year
    (honoring a performer, writer or commentator whose observations both challenge and amuse)
    Stephen Colbert
    Rachel Maddow
    Bill Maher
    John Oliver
    Jon Stewart

    Wilde Artist of the Year
    (honoring a truly groundbreaking force in the fields of film, theater and/or television)
    Xavier Dolan
    Neil Patrick Harris
    Richard Linklater
    Jill Solloway
    Tilda Swinton

    Timeless Award
    (to an actor or performer whose exemplary career is marked by character, wisdom and wit)
    George Takei


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...